Blue Red Green Magenta Purple Teal Lime Brown Pink Mango

Theme Color Selector

The Cricket World Cup
ICC Champions Trophy 2013
  • Article 1

ICC Champions Trophy 2013

The Final Edition

India added the 2013 Champions Trophy to the 2002 trophy they shared with Sri Lanka, beating England narrowly by 5 runs in a game that was there for the hosts to win. With this win, MS Dhoni became the first captain in the world to have won all ICC trophies.

Under Dhoni's captaincy, India had earlier won the inaugural ICC World Twenty20 held in South Africa in September 2007 and the 2011 World Cup held in India, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh.

Chasing a modest 130 for a win, Ravi Bopara (30) and Eoin Morgan (33) had things under control and was going for the kill when Ishant Sharma turned it around with two wickets in two balls, after a six and two wide balls in the 18th over. That started a collapse that saw four wickets lost for three runs in eight balls. England finished on 124/8 after James Tredwell missed the last ball of the innings with six required for victory.

Indian Team :

  • Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Wicket Keeper) (c)
  • Shikhar Dhawan
  • Rohit Sharma
  • Virat Kohli
  • Dinesh Karthik
  • Suresh Raina
  • Ravindra Jadeja
  • R Ashwin
  • Bhuvneshwar Kumar
  • Ishant Sharma
  • Umesh Yadav

India earned $2 million in prize money, the largest amount since the tournament's inception. It was the seventh and final ICC Champions Trophy, as it is due to be replaced by the ICC World Test Championship in 2017.