Blue Red Green Magenta Purple Teal Lime Brown Pink Mango

Theme Color Selector

The Cricket World Cup
Cricket World Cup 1996-2007
  • Sri Lanka 1996 Champions
  • Australia 1999 Champions
  • Australia 2003 Champions
  • Australia 2007 Champions

Cricket World Cups from 1996 to 2007

The three-peat Australians, Indian Resurgence

Cricket World Cup 1996

Sri Lanka 1996 World Cup Sri Lanka 1996 World Cup Sri Lanka 1996 World Cup

1996 Cricket World Cup Finals

Sri Lanka beat Australia by 7 Wickets

Sri Lanka initiated a watershed in one-day cricket at the 1996 World Cup that took them all the way to an unexpected victory. With Sanath Jayasuriya playing some of the best cricket of his career at the top of the order, their plan was to go on an all out attack in the opening 15 overs and build on that start. Everything had gone according to plan in the run-up to the final, but come that match it looked as if things may be going awry. Arjuna Ranatunga won the toss and put Australia in. The previous five finals had all been won by the team batting first. And with Mark Taylor leading from the front Australia reached 137 for one by the 27th over before attacking fielding and tight bowling stifled Australia's efforts, limiting the favourites to a score of 241. However, with Sri Lanka's openers back in the pavilion with only 23 runs on the board that target seemed far more foreboding - until Aravinda de Silva got going. After taking three wickets, he scored an unbeaten century and found able support from Asanka Gurusinha and Ranatunga, the skipper scoring the winning runs to seal a sensational win.

Detailed scores, news from 1996 Cricket World Cup →

1996's World Cup Winning Sri Lanka Team :

  • Arjuna Ranatunga (c)
  • Marvan Atapattu
  • Upul Chandana
  • Aravinda de Silva
  • Kumar Dharmasena
  • Asanka Gurusinha
  • Romesh Kaluwitharana (Wicket Keeper)
  • Sanath Jayasuriya
  • Roshan Mahanama
  • Muttiah Muralitharan
  • Ravindra Pushpakumara
  • Hashan Tillakaratne
  • Chaminda Vaas
  • Pramodya Wickramasinghe
  • More Sri Lanka Cricket Players

Sri Lanka 245 for 3 (46.2 overs) beat Australia 241 for 7 (50.0 overs) by 7 Wickets; Man of the Match: PA de Silva

Cricket World Cup 1999

Australia 1999 Cricket World Champions Australia 1999 Cricket World Champions Australia 1999 Cricket World Champions

1999 Cricket World Cup Finals

Australia beat Pakistan by 8 Wickets

The shortest final in World Cup history. Wasim Akram won the toss and elected to bat, but his decision back-fired and none of his batsmen ever got to grips with either the wicket or the bowlers. From the moment Wajahatullah Wasti fell in the fifth over, batsmen kept walking out to bat - and back to the pavilion - with alarming frequency. Extras finished as top scorer with 25 runs in a 39-over innings in which each of the Australian bowlers picked up wickets, Shane Warne finishing with four. As they had with the ball, Australia batted with utter professionalism, although admittedly they were under no real pressure. Steve Waugh's men were given the perfect start by Adam Gilchrist who reached his fifty off 33 balls and they needed only 121 balls to reach the 133 runs needed for victory.

Detailed scores, news from 1999 Cricket World Cup →

1999's World Cup Winning Australian Team :

  • S. Waugh (c)
  • Bevan
  • Fleming
  • Reiffel
  • Warne
  • M. Waugh
  • Lee
  • Julian
  • Moody
  • Lehmann
  • McGrath
  • Gilchrist
  • Dale
  • Ponting
  • Marty
  • More Australian Cricket Players

Australia 133 for 2 (20.1 overs) beat Pakistan 132 all out(32.0 overs) by 8 Wickets; Man of the Match: SK Warne (4-33)

Cricket World Cup 2003

Australia 2003 Cricket World Cup Australia 2003 Cricket World Cup Australia 2003 Cricket World Cup

2003 Cricket World Cup Finals

Australia beat India by 125 runs

Australia clinched their third Cricket World Cup with a thumping 125-run victory over India. Captain Ricky Ponting hit a blistering 140 as the Aussies scored a massive 359 for two - their highest-ever one-day total. Despite a fighting 82 from Virender Sehwag , India could only make 234. And in securing their third World Cup triumph, Australia also became the only side to win all of their matches in a World Cup tournament.

Detailed scores, news from 2003 Cricket World Cup →

Australia 359 for 2 (50.0 overs) beat India 234 all out (39.2 overs) by 125 runs; Man of the Match: RT Ponting (140*)

Cricket World Cup 2007

Australia 2007 World Cup Champions

2007 Cricket World Cup Finals

Australia beat England by 7 runs

Australia lifted the World Cup trophy for a record third successive time after claiming victory over Sri Lanka in a rain-shortened final. Adam Gilchrist smashed 149, the highest individual score in a World Cup final to propel Australia to 281-4 from their allotted 38 overs before the champions restricted Sri Lanka to 215, thereby winning by a margin of 53 runs (D/L method). Sri Lanka, champions in 1996, were set a revised target of 269 off 36 overs under the Duckworth-Lewis system after rain halted play for 12 minutes during their run chase.

Detailed scores, news from 2007 Cricket World Cup →

2007's World Cup Winning Australian Team :

  • Clark
  • McGrath
  • Ponting (c)
  • Hodge
  • Gilchrist
  • Clarke
  • Johnson
  • Hayden
  • Hogg
  • Tait
  • Watson
  • Hussey
  • Haddin
  • Bracken
  • Symonds
  • More Australian Cricket Players

Australia 281 for 4 (38.0 overs) beat Sri Lanka 215 for 8 (36.0 overs) by 53 runs (D/L)